Appointments made to the Board of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners

Regional Development Minister Danny Kennedy has announced the appointment of four Non-Executive Members to the Board of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners, which is responsible for operating, maintaining and improving Foyle Port.

The appointments take effect from 1 April 2015 for four years and will run to 31 March 2019.

The Minister has reappointed Dr Dolores O’Reilly and Peter Sheridan OBE to the Board to serve second terms. They have been Non Executive Members of Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners since February 2011. Hilary McCartan and Brian Dougherty MBE have each been appointed for a first term.

Minister Kennedy said: “I am very pleased to announce these appointments today. I am confident that the members that I have reappointed will continue to make a valuable contribution to the work of the Board. The new members will bring fresh skills, experience and ideas to the table.

“Foyle Port is of major importance to the local economy and I am sure that these appointments will ensure that Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners will continue to develop, maintain and operate the Port to the highest standards.”

The Minister also paid tribute to the outgoing Board Members Roy Devine and Joe McKeever, saying: “I would also like to thank the outgoing Non-Executive Members for the valuable contribution they have made to Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners during their tenure.”

The appointments have been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.

Notes to editors:

1. The Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners are a body corporate, having perpetual succession, which was first constituted by the Londonderry Port and Harbour Act 1854. Its constitution is now enshrined in the Londonderry Harbour Order (Northern Ireland) 2002. The Londonderry Port and Harbour Orders 1854 to 2002 conferred powers on the Commissioners to preserve, improve and manage the Londonderry Port and Harbour. The Commissioners also have the powers to construct and maintain specific works, to levy dues, to deal with abandoned vessels and to make bylaws. In common with other Northern Ireland and Great Britain ports similarly constituted, Foyle Port is generally referred to as a ‘Trust Port’.

2. The Commissioners currently have a membership of a Chair, an Executive Member and seven Members, including three councillors from Derry City Council. The Non-Executive Directors currently receive remuneration of £7,996 per annum.

3. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published. All four appointees have declared that they are not involved in any political activities.

4. Peter Sheridan OBE has served on Londonderry Harbour Commissioners since February 2011 and receives remuneration of £7,996 per annum. He has 15 years experience operating at a senior level within the Police Service of Northern Ireland where he served as an Assistant Chief Constable with responsibility for murder and organised crime investigation. He was appointed Deputy Lord Lieutenant of County Londonderry in 2014. He remains a commissioner with the Equality Commission until August 2015 for which he receives remuneration of £5,000 per annum. He is currently Chief Executive with the peace building charity Co-operation Ireland.

5. Dr Dolores O’Reilly is a Professor Emerita of International Business and Strategy at the University of Ulster. She has served on Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners since February 2011, and receives remuneration of £7,996 per annum. Professor O’Reilly is also an Independent Board Member of the Department of Finance and Personnel. She is a Director of Northern Ireland Opera and Derry Theatre Trust.

6. Hilary McCartan is a chartered accountant by profession. She holds an MBA and has held a number of senior management posts in the private sector including the role of Finance Director, and a number of non-executive roles in the public sector. She is a non-executive director of the HSC Business Services Organisation (2013-2016) for which she receives £5,296 per annum. She is also a Member of the Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute (2011-2016) for which she receives £3,745 per annum.

7. Brian Dougherty, MBE, is a former Chief Executive of St Columb’s Park House Centre for Reconciliation. He has experience in community and business development, project management and finance. He a Governor for Foyle College, a board member of APEX Housing Association and a Trustee of the Community Foundation for Northern Ireland. He does not hold any other public appointments.