Reappointments announced to the Industrial Court

Minister for Employment and Learning, Dr Stephen Farry, today announced the reappointment the following to the Industrial Court:

  • Mr Robin Bell
  • Ms Barbara Martin
  • Mr Patrick Masterson
  • Miss Patricia O’Callaghan
  • Mr Neal Willis

The reappointments take effect from 1 April 2015 for a period of three years. The previous appointments were effective from 1 December 2011 to 31 March 2015.

The Industrial Court is responsible for the resolution of disputes arising from statutory trade union recognition for collective bargaining purposes and employee information and consultation rights.

1. The Industrial Court is a Tribunal Non-Departmental Public Body which has its origin in the Industrial Courts Act 1919.

2. The Court normally comprises a Chair, a Deputy Chair, six members with experience as employers’ representatives and six members with experience as workers’ representatives. The overall responsibility for the Court’s work rests with the Chair. It works through panels consisting of the Chair or the Deputy Chair and one member drawn from each of the other two groups.

3. Court appointments are not regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments (CPANI) although appointments adhere as far as possible to the CPANI Code of Practice.

4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for the political activity of appointees to be published. No members have declared political activity.

5. The rate of remuneration for the deputy Chairman is £468 while that for a member of the Court is £265 for each day spent on Court activities. Members are also eligible to claim allowances, at Northern Ireland Civil Service rates, for travel and subsistence costs necessarily incurred on Court business.