Appointment of judicial member to the NI Judicial Appointments Commission announced

First Minister the Rt Hon Peter D Robinson MLA and deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness MLA today appointed Lord Justice Weatherup as the judicial member of the NI Judicial Appointments Commission (NIJAC).

Lord Chief Justice Weatherup has previously served a total of eight years as a judicial member to the commission and therefore his appointment will last for a maximum of two years commencing 2 November 2015.

This appointment does not attract remuneration.

Notes to editors:

1. NIJAC was established as a Non Departmental Public Body on 15 June 2005 under the Justice (NI) Act 2002 as amended by the Justice (NI) Act 2004. On the devolution of policing and justice powers in April 2010 the remit of the Commission was further expanded and NIJAC is currently responsible for selecting and appointing, or recommending for appointment, applicants in respect of all listed judicial offices up to and including High Court Judge.

2. The Commission comprises a Chairman who is the Lord Chief Justice and 12 other members:

·five Judicial Members;
·two Legal Profession Members (a barrister nominated by the General Council of the Bar and a solicitor nominated by the Law Society); and
·five Lay Members.

3. The previous experience of Lord Justice Weatherup in the role will be of great benefit to the Commission.

4. This appointment has been made in accordance with the CPA NI Code of Practice. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments requires the political activity of appointees to be published.

5. Political activity plays no part in the selection process and the Honorable Lord Justice Weatherup has not been engaged in any political activity in the last five years.